top of page

NYAKE'S 

LIFESTYLE TIPS

3 ways to deal with Breakage|Natural hair


Hello loves

About a month ago, I noticed my hair was shedding more than usual and I was wondering what was wrong. Usually these instances usually throw me into some sort of panic lol. It is not the first time it has happened and I bet lots of us experience this. So I put together ways I combat my excess breakage and I hope this will be helpful for you.

  • Dusting

Dusting is actually a mini-trim. It is lightly trimming the ends of our hair that are usually prone to single strand knots and matting. Our ends are the oldest part of our hair and so may be prone to misbehaving. I dust my hair myself in two strand twists.

HOW TO: section your hair into medium twists and lightly trim the ends. It is recommended that you trim your hair once every 6-8 weeks….but I will say that you only do so when need arises. You may also opt to get it professionally done.

  • Tea rinses / spray bottle

These are effective in reducing shedding a great deal. Your best teas are black tea and coffee and a selection of herbal teas as well. I prefer spray bottle as opposed to rinses because, I can use them all the time and not necessarily during wash day only. I store my spray bottle in the fridge and use it two to three times a week to moisturise my hair especially before styling.

HOW TO: I made a super concoction, with black tea, coffee, green tea and hibiscus and let it cool before storing in a spray bottle.

  • Protein treatment

Protein treatments are excellent because they temporarily fill in the gaps in the hair strand where the hair has been damaged thus strengthening the hair. I like the Venus Keraflex treatment because it does the job so well, and it has a moisture protein balance.

HOW TO: apply on damp hair after was smoothing it to coat every strand, then don a plastic cap for 15-30 minutes then rinse it out and follow with a moisture treatment.

Have you had a lot of breakage? How have you dealt with it?

Love,

Nyake.

#1 

Be happy. 

 

#2

Be content....

 

#3
Simplicity....​
bottom of page