top of page

NYAKE'S 

LIFESTYLE TIPS

Of canvases and new things


Last week I tried out a very new thing tom me!! I caked my face or as we call it, I got a face beat courtesy of Wacuka Thimba of Wacukathimbartistry which was amazing. So background to this story… I took part in #riseofthekink which is a thirty day styling feature for natural hair!! If you haven’t seen it already… Instagram is your best friend!! We were a couple of us!! And I met some amazing women while I was there like her and Mayonde. Anyway check out the feature at @amadivabeautysalon

I will highlight the makeup part just because it was a very new thing for me. I had actually been freaking out the day before. Let’s just say I am one of those very few lucky people who had their first face beat done by a professional make-up artist!! While there, I got to learn a few things about my skin…that I would have never known. Like there is something like dehydrated skin…. Imagine I have dehydrated and oily skin… I know! My stress levels just tripled. So now I am trying to learn how to deal with dehydrated skin!! I am so confused… has anyone ever dealt with that? I would really love to know… please share.

While I sat there as she got my glam on, (I hope I wasn’t too difficult) I couldn’t help but think of how I really had an imperfect canvas!! Here was I recovering from acne…I had like two bumps… and a million and one marks… and hyperpigmentation… and now dehydrated skin. Yet she didn’t seem bothered by that, like it’s okay. She just took it on and worked her way to perfection and went a notch higher to give me advice and a chat. I looked at myself on the mirror I was like woo!!

Sometimes, we are busy trying to be what we think is perfect, we end up messing ourselves… I spent all my life doing lots of stuff to eradicate my acne thinking it was the ultimate goal… in the end I dehydrated my skin!! Now I have to learn again how to hydrate my skin. I am in no way saying that we do not attempt to be good at what we do… just that we don’t frustrate ourselves to a point just because we are trying to be as good as a certain standard or like someone else. Enjoy being you!! Do your best! The best that makes you sleep well at night!!

Also… the hair is goals!! Ok bye.

Love and love

Nyake.

#1 

Be happy. 

 

#2

Be content....

 

#3
Simplicity....​
bottom of page